top of page

Food? YES PLEEEASE!!!

We all know how important nutrition is in sports. Fortunately, for us who play volleyball, nutrition yes is crucial for our performance, but this does not mean that we can't eat our favorite desert or enjoy our favorite “unhealthy” meal. We just need to be smart with it. Something that we need to be very careful with, is the food we eat during our game day because on game days we can’t make any mistakes with our nutrition.

BREAKFAST

First of all, I want you to make sure you don’t skip a meal and eat breakfast, lunch and dinner during the day. Usually, because I do not like to wake up super early to make breakfast before my morning practice, my meal is very simple and very fast to make. My breakfast is pretty much the same every day. One of my options is cereal, which only takes 1 minute to make and it’s super tasty. I like to switch up the type of cereal I eat every week so I don’t get tired of my breakfast. My favorite types of cereal are: Kellogg’s Special with Chocolate or Almonds, Lucky Charms (only in the US), and Honey Nut Cheerios. If I have more time I love eating a nice bowl of oatmeal. I usually make it with almond milk (if I don’t have almond milk, I just use normal milk), 1-2 spoons brown sugar, half a banana and some nuts. I always have a cup of coffee every morning because I can’t function without it. I know this is not the healthiest breakfast you’ll find but it’s very fast, very tasty and gives me a lot of energy to start off my day. Other alternatives for people who have more time in the morning are: Scrambled Eggs and Omelettes, Avocado Sandwiches, Protein Pancakes (you can add any fruit you want), and my favorite Smoothies.

PRE-GAME MEAL

Usually people say the breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Well, on game days the pre-game meal is and I will explain why! Your body needs a lot of energy in order to give its 100% in the game. The pre-game meal is the last meal you’ll eat before the game and it is what your body will draw from during the match, so you need to be very careful with what you’re putting inside it. I know that a lot of coaches say you need to eat 4-5 hours before the game, but this doesn't work for me. I get hungry really fast so I try to eat as close to the game as I can without being too full nor too hungry during the match. Every individual is different and you need to find the perfect timing for you, but I think 3 hours before will give you enough time to digest your food and have energy for the game.

Every time before a game, I like to eat both carbs and protein. I usually eat rice or pasta with chicken, some salad and bread. Some other alternatives are: veggies, lean meat and fish. Try to avoid pizza, fried food and any type of desert. Make sure the amount of food you eat is enough to cover all your needs while you play. Your body needs a lot of energy, and if you don’t have enough, this will impact your performance.

DURING THE GAME

Usually after the first set, I start getting tired and I can feel my body slowing down. That’s why I like bringing snacks with me on the court. My go-to snacks are energy bars, bananas and chocolate. Sugar releases energy very fast which is exactly what you need. Obviously, if eating during the game doesn’t sit well, you don’t have to eat anything, just make sure you hydrate very well.

I will say it again, EVERY INDIVIDUAL IS DIFFERENT so if you have a routine that helps you through game days don’t change it. If you feel that your game day meals need some improvement, try my suggestions and see if you like them and if they help you. You can always add or remove something in order to maximize your performance, because don’t forget… our goal is to play as good as we can! If you have any suggestions for me, just contact me and tell me your opinion. I’m excited to hear what you think!!

Olga


Featured Posts
Ελέγξτε πάλι σύντομα
Μείνετε συντονισμένοι...
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Δεν υπάρχουν ακόμη ετικέτες.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page