top of page

My Kind of Day One

Hi everyone,

I was thinking a lot about what my first post should be and I think that there’s nothing better to start with other than the beginning. The purpose of this blog is to talk about personal experiences and I realized that all of the experiences that I have, came from one single thing, which is volleyball. In this post you will find how I started playing volleyball and why volleyball is so important to me. Ready?

Well, when people ask me when I started playing volleyball, I always have trouble finding the correct answer. The reason is that I remember myself playing volleyball before I remember myself talking so it’s kinda hard to tell an age. I remember going to my dad’s games every weekend (he is a volleyball coach) and waiting for the games to be over so I can go and play on the court.

By the age of 6, I was already playing for the local team and by the age of 12 I had my first tryout for the Greek Junior National Team (YES I’M GREEK!). When I was 13, I moved to another city and I played for a club team there for 6 years, while I was playing for the Women’s national team as well. By the age of 18, when I finished high school I moved to California to play for UCLA and a year later I was in Miami playing for the Canes. Crazy huh?

I moved from a small town in Greece all the way to the other side of the world to live my dream, but all this seemed so normal to me. I never realized how lucky I was to have the life that I have. Volleyball gave me so much!!

Because of volleyball I’ve learned what teamwork means and how it is to work with other people.

Because of volleyball I got my education.

Because of volleyball I’ve traveled in 18 countries around the world and in 4 different continents.

Because of volleyball I met people that changed my life.

Because of volleyball I found my BEST FRIENDS.

Because of volleyball I’m a better person.

Yes, sports can be tough! Sports will make you cry and sports will hurt you, but trust me, it is all worth it. I would never experience all these feelings if I wasn’t an athlete. I would never had all these friends from all over the world if I wasn’t an athlete. I would never travel to all these countries if I wasn’t an athlete. And I would never be the person that I am today if I wasn’t an athlete.

So next time you see someone trying to learn a sport, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE encourage him to do so. There is nothing better that being an athlete.

xoxo Olga


Featured Posts
Ελέγξτε πάλι σύντομα
Μείνετε συντονισμένοι...
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Δεν υπάρχουν ακόμη ετικέτες.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page